Technology, the lever to realise AEC benefits

Two months have passed since the historic landmark agreement came into effect, when the ten member ASEAN (Association of Southeast Asian Nations) countries consisting of Brunei, Cambodia, Indonesia, Laos, Malaysia, Myanmar, Singapore, Philippines, Thailand and Vietnam signed their commitment to form the ASEAN Economic Community (AEC). With lower business restrictions and enhanced trade opportunities, this new economic bloc will make ASEAN more competitive. However, member countries will first have to resolve their local challenges before they can fully reap the benefits of this connected region.